A Hmong Man Dying Wishes

Saw this post up on a Hmong page via facebook. It bring sadness to me because I haven’t experience much; just like this Hmong man wish he could had. Through my experience with my mom’s cancer 6 years ago, I cannot imagine what this Hmong man is going through on his death bed. Not sure if this story is true or not, but if it is… If there is a next life, may he fulfill all his wishes.

Anonymous wrote:

 

Dear beloved friends,

 

I found out I have stage 4 cancer and doctors told me I have 2-3 months to live. I never thought this day would come. I felt like my life has just started and it’s now coming to an end. I’m 34 years old. To be completely honest I am terrified of dying and every day it gets harder to say goodbye. 

The reason I am writing this is because I’ve never contributed anything and thought my words could serve a voice to those who are lost like me.

 

I wish I would have spent more time with my parents. Now they are gone and I’ll be meeting them soon.

 

I should have gotten married to the girl I loved rather than to chase my career dream.

 

I wish I got married young and have kids. Now I’m 34 and no children, no wife. I may die alone.

 

I wish I would have gone fishing on the weekends I worked overtime.

 

I wished I had more time to eat good home cooked meals instead of holding out and eating less meals because I was saving money.

 

I wished I would have slept in on weekends and take a vacation every year. I was too busy saving money to buy a home and a place for my future wife to be.

 

I see young kids struggling working jobs but they go hand in hand with their loves, I wish that were me that comes home to a wife and kids and a warm home. I’d rather be poor and loved than rich and alone.

 

I wish I spoke more hmong and embrace my true identity rather than practicing so hard to fit in with the white America that surrounds me.

 

Most of all I wish I had not been so scared of love. I wished I believed someone would love me as I loved them.

 

I will be saying goodbye soon. You don’t need to know who I am, I’m just a person that is passing on my wish list. Live as if you have no tomorrow. I lived like I would never die and now it will be ending soon.

 

If we don’t meet again, farewell friends.

 

 

Source: Hmong Page (facebook)

Leave a Reply

